iOS, then Android, but Android also in the meantime

I asked (more to myself) earlier: What should I learn first: iOS or Android development?

Eventually, I think I would better start with iOS, myself. Because of these reasons:

  • Even that the market share of iOS is not as high as Android worldwide, and that iOS apps are not the most profitable anymore when you do the math (despite that iPhone remains the most desirable device) – see the stats presented in this article – I personally think it’s better to consider the rich countries first and in those regions one would rather release software for iOS first;
  • Usually iOS app development takes less time; moreover, I personally prefer doing the easier thing first in a pair, assuming that I would be able to reuse some knowledge obtained during the first phase in the second one;
  • Although I will need to purchase a Mac to develop for iOS using XCode, while Android Studio is available also on Windows and I could just run it on my primary notebook, I think that it would be easier for me to have all mobile development done using the same desktop machine, and it would better be the same machine from the start.
  • I’m new to Swift (but not to Java) so it’s more interesting for me to start with that.

Update: Due to some external constraints, and although I started to study about iOS development (got a good book), I eventually also considered and installed Android Studio on my primary Windows machine (I’ll see if I’d need to put it on a Mac too), and therefore I couldn’t help starting to learn a little – at least the basics – about Android app development. Microsoft helped much as it offers a free Android emulator – Visual Studio Emulator for Android – that can be used without disabling Hyper-V as required by the standard Android SDK emulator. 🙂

About Sorin Dolha

My passion is software development, but I also like physics.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to iOS, then Android, but Android also in the meantime

  1. Pingback: Sorting learning | Sorin Dolha's Blog

Add a reply

