Strange bug with built-in Windows 10 apps and different DPI or language settings on multiple profiles

I don’t like the default DPI setting (250%) on my laptop (4k display). So I manually set it to 225% instead, making texts and icons a little smaller, as I prefer. My wife and children also have Windows profiles on the same computer, but they kept the default DPI setting.

Also I have set Windows to display the UI in a non-English language (setting shared with my children) but my wife prefers English.

Now I’m not 100% sure if any of the two things above caused the bug I wanted to mention here, but when:

  • a major Windows update has recently occurred, and since then I logged in many times but other users haven’t;
  • I didn’t log off from my account one time, but just locked it;
  • my wife or a child logged in while my profile was still loaded, and had the color-changing screen displaying “We have updated your computer” and similar messages;
  • eventually, I logged on back to my profile.

At that time, somehow a few of the appropriate “scale-*” folders for a some built-in Windows 10 apps (Calculator, Messaging, and People, this time) were removed and the apps didn’t run anymore. I had to restore the computer to a previous System Restore point to get them working again (simply running Add-AppxPackage tool for them wasn’t enough)!

About Sorin Dolha

My passion is software development, but I also like physics.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Add a reply

