Windows 10: strange little issues

I’ve just switched to Windows® 10. And while the experience is mostly pleasant, I did encounter a few annoying issues. One is even blocking the behavior I want to obtain. Here we go:

  • User profile folder name issue:
    • On a new system I had a local account (simple username, SDolha). I logged in to that, and connected with my Microsoft® account – SDolha@Hotmail.com. Everything fine, settings synchronized.
    • Going to Settings – Accounts again I noticed that I have other members of the family displayed in Family list, since I added them before through Family Safety, a Microsoft® service, which – I thought – is also great: I could just enable my wife and children accounts to be able to login on the computer, without needing to create accounts for them separately (as I had to do before). Ad I did that, clicking Enable on each account in my family.
    • Then, the first time that Robert, one of my children, logged in with his account – RDolha@Hotmail.com – Windows® created a user profile for him, and also a folder in C:\Users, as normal. But guess: what folder name has Windows® decided to allocate? Was it “RDolha” or “Robert” as I would accept? No. It was a completely unpleasant surprise: “RDolh”!
      • I suspect that a programmer wrote a code to obtain a substring from the e-mail address and inadvertently added a minus one to the retrieved length, as he or she wanted to avoid having the “@” char extracted. And substr(“RDolha@Hotmail.com”, indexOf(“@”, “RDolha@Hotmail.com”) – 1) is “RDolh” in a zero based indexing system, as in .NET!
      • To resolve the issue I had to delete the account completely, and then:
        • Log in to my account, ensured I enabled RDolha@Hotmail.com from Settings – Accounts – Family and other users – Family section to log in;
        • Log in to a local administrator account (other than mine, to avoid having my family member list loaded) and delete RDolha@Hotmail.com account from Other users section of Settings – Accounts – Family and other users;
        • Create a new RDolha simple user account by selecting “I want to enable login for a user without a Microsoft® account” and “The user doesn’t have an e-mail address”;
        • Log in to RDolha simple user – at this time the folder is correctly created as C:\Users\RDolha;
        • Finally, associate the Microsoft® account to it (which was still enabled to login in the step A, from the Family members of my Microsoft® account.)
  • Strange unacceptable username issue:
    • Trying to do the above for my wife, which has her Microsoft® account IoanaPV@Hotmail.com (with first name set to Ioana and last name set to Dolha online), I was just unable to create her simple user account with name “Ioana” – it gave this error: “Please choose another username”. Note that I did NOT have another user with Ioana name on my system.
      • Surprisingly, these names were all fine: “Ioan”, “IoanaP”, “IoanaPV”;
      • Moreover, for RDolha@Hotmail.com all these names worked (I tested just to try to find the cause of this issue): “Robert”, “RDolha”, “RDolh”, “RDol”;
      • So this time, I’m not able to see what was causing the issue.
  • New OneDrive way issues:
    • First, smart files disappeared; this was expected, since in previous Windows® versions, OneDrive allowed setting “Online only” for some files in OneDrive folder, and the system in this case didn’t actually hosted the file locally synchronizing changes, but rather download it just when needed, requiring network access at that time (some apps had also had hard times with this since they may have been designed without the new smart file system in mind, and tried to load the file in a standard way but crashed as it hasn’t existed on the drive). And users got confused about all these situations, especially as they often tried to load files when they didn’t have the connection.
      • For power users, still, this is bad, since now I have to either synchronize all files in a folder to see them in apps using the OneDrive folder, or don’t see them at all.
    • But the really ugly thing is that it seems now I cannot set some Windows® libraries (Documents and Pictures) to have a Save location (nor Public save location) pointing to the corresponding folder on OneDrive.
      Update: this issue has been resolved by installing Nov. 2015 upgrade.
      • If I try to update Save locations from Explorer, it’s OK for a limited time;
      • But then, when I rerun OneDrive app (e.g. if I log out and log in again), it overrides these settings and makes the Save locations back to the local folders (Documents and Pictures from C:\Users\[MyUsername]) – it’s very annoying;
      • Strangely, this doesn’t occur for my account on another computer (a workstation), it’s happening only on my new laptop;
      • Trying to somehow make OneDrive to select itself as the default save location for these libraries, I found this Help document with title set to “Files save to OneDrive in Windows 10”. There it’s said:

        • But guess what! This Documents and Pictures does not exist in the settings window of the new OneDrive (in Auto save tab I only have Photos and videos and Screenshots, which allow automatically importing pictures and videos from cameras plugged in to the computer and screenshots made by hitting PrtScr key to OneDrive – these work as expected)!

About Sorin Dolha

My passion is software development, but I also like physics.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Add a reply

