Scalable Vector Graphics in HTML5 (for .NET developers)

As you probably know if you’re an active developer, even that it isn’t 100% ready yet, HTML5 includes a large suite of interesting new functionalities, many of them being already supported by most recent versions of contemporary modern browsers.

One such feature that I like very much myself (as it is already available and serves some of the purposes I have at work) is the inline Scalable Vector Graphics support: now I can easily use JavaScript (although I’m not a very good friend of this programming language – maybe I’ll become one in the future) to generate interesting, cross-platform, and high quality graphical user interface output, using the <svg> container element instances directly within the Web browser, without relying to any browser plugins (such as Silverlight) or requiring Windows® or similar client downloads whatsoever.

Moreover, as Metro style apps introduced by Windows® 8 may also be developed using HTML5 and Javascript, and as ASP .NET controls are also able to include and generate HTML content as their main purpose, I am considering switching to developing new, common HTML5 script libraries that would generate and manage interactive SVG content on the fly, and then reuse them in multiple targetted .NET and non-.NET-related products, such as for Metro style apps with WinRT, for ASP .NET 4.5, or for generic Web development (i.e. just packaging them differently).

Right now, my biggest concern about this approach is the ability to protect my JavaScript code (especially in order to be able to provide full featured and time unlimited trial versions of the output packages for free, and simply generate periodical nag screens at runtime, but without allowing a developer to remove them very easily): hopefully obfuscation would be good enough, as it is also the single logically available path to do the job (from what I know). However, I’m sure that other, more important, technical issues that I’ll have to overcome would overclass this thought in short time. So, wish me luck!

(My Plan B is to use only C# and .NET for Metro style apps, and ignore both ASP .NET and non-.NET output in the future, but I’m sure this is not going to be a big winner, as it would all depend only on the Metro style apps’ success…)

About Sorin Dolha

My passion is software development, but I also like physics.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Add a reply

