.NET 4.0 CTP Doesn’t Contain .NET 3.5 SP1 Additions

I just had some time to test Visual Studio 2010 CTP and .NET 4.0 CTP a little. Beside the standard tests for the new features of C#, etc., I also tried to test our products on the virtual machine having .NET 4.0 installed: but surprise, our WPF-based products didn’t run well!

Investigating the cause it seems that Microsoft .NET 4.0 CTP doesn’t contain the new features added in .NET 3.5 SP1, such as WPF’s BindingGroup or other types and properties. I hope this is just true only within this CTP and won’t be true in the next releases or in the final release!

Update: I’ve added a feedback item for Visual Studio 2010 team to look at, if you want you can vote for it too.

Update: I’ve found a nice poster showing what’s new in .NET 3.5 SP1 and 4.0: based on the fact that new things are presented to be released in both these versions, I can only assume that indeed .NET 3.5 SP1 additions will be included in 4.0 too. PS: Nice new WPF controls would be released with .NET 4.0, such as DataGrid and DatePicker!

Update: Microsoft said (as a comment about my feedback) that this issue is resolved in the beta version.

About Sorin Dolha

My passion is software development, but I also like physics.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Add a reply

