Something about WSDualHttpBinding in WCF

Today somebody asked at the local MSDN Briefing in Cluj-Napoca whether one can use the WSDualHttpBinding in Windows Communication Foundation (WCF) to be able to callback a client from the server on simple HTTP protocol, even when the client doesn’t have a public IP. The speaker (he was not from Microsoft! :-)) told the person who asked that that it was indeed and for sure possible! However the asker and all participants, I guess, noticed that the answer was not satisfactory without a demo or at least documentation point. So I thought I should check this myself and here is what I found:

In this page of MSDN documentation it is clearely stated that the answer is NO:

"The WSDualHttpBinding provides the same support for Web Service protocols as the WSHttpBinding, but for use with duplex contracts. WSDualHttpBinding only supports SOAP security and requires reliable messaging. This binding requires that the client has a public URI that provides a callback endpoint for the service. This is provided by the ClientBaseAddress. A dual binding exposes the IP address of the client to the service. The client should use security to ensure that it only connects to services it trusts."

About Sorin Dolha

My passion is software development, but I also like physics.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Something about WSDualHttpBinding in WCF

  1. Unknown says:

    Hi Sorin,I have client and service with in my private network like Service on IP 10.77.112.222 and client on 10.77.122.241.can I use private IPs within the same network for WCF wsDualHttpBinding.I do not want security as my service publishing data that need not be secure and its of just int value. so, don’t want to add security overhead!how do I disable the Security in wcf wsDualHttpBinding ?I use wsDualHttpBinding as I am using Callback contract.I have set < security mode = "None">in client app.config but then it start giving time out exception. Please help me to solve this problem!Regardssantosh.

  2. Sorin says:

    I’m sorry but I don’t know the answer to your question, please try posting it again in the WCF related MSDN forums. Thank you.

Add a reply

